top of page

Learning Tai Chi 101

八仙過海, 各顯神通 - The Eight Immortals cross the sea, each with their own unique abilities

Learning Tai Chi can be an exciting journey, but the leap into the unknown can be daunting.  You see people in public or on YouTube doing their forms and it looks wonderful.  Or that you have heard or read wonderful things about what Tai Chi can do.  A lot of these things you see or hear might be true.  However, you should keep an open mind about things and see if it is exactly as it says on the tin.

Learning Tai Chi is a lot like putting together Scandinavian flat pack furniture.  You like what you see in the shop and you have certain expectations on how it should look in your living room.  But how do you get there?  You study the instructions.  This is the hard part, because the instructions don't seem to look right and they don't seem to relate to how the scattered parts look.  This is where the teacher comes in to guide you and once you get the hang of it, everything makes more sense.  You see how the various components slot together and are screwed into place.  Once you've done it once, everything else will become easier.  

The Eight Immortals are Daoist deities who are prominently featured in Chinese art.  I will cover the Eight Immortals in another blog entry.  The phrase The Eight Immortals cross the sea, each with their own unique abilities has a special meaning.  Each of the the Immortals are different people with a different skills and abilities.  They represent the common people and if we put in the effort, we can achieve any task (hence the sea).

Thank you for reading my blog.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
bottom of page